Call Me “Ambassador”

No, I don’t represent the US to a foreign government, nor do I represent a foreign government to the US, or do I? In a very-real sense, as a Christian, I DO represent a foreign government, the kingdom of God, to people here and abroad. I come bearing God’s revealed Word, the Bible.

You may be thinking, “Steve, where did you get the idea that you are an Ambassador?“, and that would be a fair question if I had just pulled that idea out of my hat, but I didn’t. That idea isn’t original with me, but came from the Apostle Paul.

You may be thinking, “Where did I get the idea that I represent a foreign government?“, and that would also be a fair question if I just pulled that idea out of my hat, but I didn’t. Jesus told His disciples, and us, that we are NOT of this world, and the Apostle Paul reiterated that to his readers. As believers, we are NOTcitizens” of this world, even though we live in it. Our “tenure“, our “journey” here is only temporary. Hence, as political envoys, Ambassadors serve for a limited time and may be “recalled” at any time, we may also be “recalled” at any time if our Lord sees-fit to call us HOME.

Another fair question would be “Who sent you?” That question was answered by Jesus in the Great Commission, and contrary to popular-opinion, it was given to ALL believers, not just a “chosen-few“.

SO, after we look at what an Ambassador is, we will look at the applicable Scriptures. This may even change your mind about who you are in Christ, and I pray it does.

What IS an Ambassador?
Full Definition of ambassador (from Webster’s Dictionary)
1 : an official envoy; especially : a diplomatic agent of the highest rank accredited to a foreign government or sovereign as the resident representative of his or her own government or sovereign or appointed for a special and often temporary diplomatic assignment

2a: an authorized representative or messenger

An Ambassador is an official envoy, sent by a foreign sovereign, to be his official-messenger. This description fits all believers in Jesus Christ.

Our commission:
18 And Jesus came up and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. 19 Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, 20 teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:18-20)

Our Authority (sending-agent) is Jesus Christ, our Commission is “Go and make disciples”, and our Message is “Teaching them to observe all that I commanded you”.

Our citizenship:
18 “If the world hates you, you know that it has hated Me before it hated you. 19 If you were of the world, the world would love its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, because of this the world hates you. (John 15:18-19)

20 For our citizenship is in heaven, from which also we eagerly wait for a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ; 21 who will transform the body of our humble state into conformity with the body of His glory, by the exertion of the power that He has even to subject all things to Himself. (Philippians 3:20-21)

We are citizens of Heaven even though we reside on the earth. When we are “recalled” (taken home), we will realize the full-benefits of our heavenly-citizenship.

Our job-title and message:
Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God were making an appeal through us; we beg you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God. (2 Corinthians 5:20)

18 With all prayer and petition pray at all times in the Spirit, and with this in view, be on the alert with all perseverance and petition for all the saints, 19 and pray on my behalf, that utterance may be given to me in the opening of my mouth, to make known with boldness the mystery of the gospel, 20 for which I am an ambassador in chains; that in proclaiming it I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak. (Ephesians 6:18-20)

We are Ambassadors for Christ, bearing a message of reconciliation with God, which is summed-up in the Gospel.

As a minister of the Gospel, I am an Ambassador for Christ. Will you join me in this endeavor?

Sola Deo Gloria!
Steve

What do you think?

