Do You Have “Enough”?

It is easy in our materialistic-society to say “No, I don’t“, particularly if you compare what you have to what someone else has. Someone else will ALWAYS have more – more money, a nicer car, a finer home, and better clothing, and the list goes on, but do YOU really have “enough“? I would be lying if I said that I don’t struggle with it once in a while. Would YOU like to have more?

Money…
It would be easy for me to “justify” a desire to have more income, because it would make it easier to do ministry at Cypress Cove because I could live closer, but that ignores the fact that I am where I am for a reason – to minister to my neighbor-gal. That ministry has been going on since mid-2013, and I have lost track of the number of times and ways that I have been there for her.

Many people want more money for selfish-reasons, so they can buy more toys and googas, which they want but don’t need. More money may also mean a fancier home in a more prestigious neighborhood, or a membership at an exclusive golf and country club, or both.

And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:19)

Health…
Who wouldn’t like to be young, strong and healthy again? Who wouldn’t like to reverse the effects of aging? I have enough aches, pains and health-problems for someone twenty-years my senior, and I would really like to kick “Arthur” out of my “house“, but I can’t, so I have learned to live with my reality as it is. I would love it if I were able to see with BOTH eyes and never needed glasses again, but that is NOT going to happen…yet.

50 Now I say this, brethren, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God; nor does the perishable inherit the imperishable. 51 Behold, I tell you a mystery; we will not all sleep, but we will all be changed, 52 in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet; for the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed. 53 For this perishable must put on the imperishable, and this mortal must put on immortality. 54 But when this perishable will have put on the imperishable, and this mortal will have put on immortality, then will come about the saying that is written, “Death is swallowed up in victory. 55 O death, where is your victory? O death, where is your sting?” 56 The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law; 57 but thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. (1 Corinthians 15:50-57)

Power…
How much power is “enough“? It has been said that “Power corrupts, and absolute-power corrupts absolutely“, and we can see that vividly in our world. A small handful of people hold the reins of power over billions of people, and an even-smaller handful hold the keys to the world’s nuclear-arsenals. One mad-man with an itchy trigger-finger could ignite a nuclear-holocaust. Does anyone “deserve” that much power?

“But you shall receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you shall be witnesses to Me in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.” (Acts 1:8)

Prestige…
Prestige usually flows from having Wealth and Power, because it is rare to find a person who has Prestige who doesn’t have either Wealth or Power, or both. Like Wealth and Power, Prestige is fleeting. One day you have it, the next day you don’t, but what if there was a “prestige” which is eternal?

I don’t have Wealth, or Power, or Prestige, but I am a child of the KING of kings and LORD of lords, and I have a home which is eternal…

Fame…
Fame is also fleeting, because it is built on how others see you. You can’t make yourself “famous“, although you can try. I don’t want or need Fame, because what I do isn’t for the adulation of other people.

Final thoughts…
ALL of these things are fleeting, temporary, and none of them will survive us beyond the grave. Job, in the midst of his poverty, penned these immortal words:

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb,
And naked I shall return there.
The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away.
Blessed be the name of the Lord.” (Job 1:21)

I have “enough“, do YOU?

In Christ,
Steve

2 thoughts on “Do You Have “Enough”?

  1. This reminds me, Steve, of a poem I wrote after a sermon series preaching through the “seven deadly sins”:

    THE DEATH OF DEADLY SINS

    Our avarice denies the Lord
    By never sharing from its hoard.
    And covetousness wants to own
    The world of things its eyes have known.
    The endless lust for more of greed
    Forever takes more than its need.

    But generosity befriends
    The lonely poor by what it lends.
    And gratitude is happy for
    The gifts of God within its door.
    Contentment looks at all its stuff
    And says, “That’s more than quite enough!”

    — David L. Hatton, 1/16/09

    WRITE ON, brother. You’ve been capturing and sharing wisdom with well-put words….

    Like

    • Thank you Brother David! I think we are doubting God’s goodness when we want more than He has supplied, and in so-doing, we are setting ourselves up as our own “god” because we believe that we know better what we “need” than He does. “Contentment” is a tough pill to swallow for most people.

      Blessings!

      Like

What do you think?

