Jars Of Clay

But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the
surpassing power belongs to God and not to us. (2 Corinthians 4:7)

Christian ministry is humbling, because God has entrusted His message to us, unworthy as we are. As I work on each week’s Bible study, I am reminded of the awesome responsibility I have to open the Word and rightly and accurately proclaim it because God will hold me accountable for any mishandling of His Word. This isn’t just any book, it is God’s Word.

God has given us two particularly-encouraging promises which we know that we can take to the bank. Jesus Christ is building His church, not us, and He is the power behind His Word, not us.

So will My word be which goes forth from My mouth; It will not return to Me empty, without accomplishing what I desire, and without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it. (Isaiah 55:11)

Jesus said, “On this rock I will build My church, and the gates of Hades shall not prevail against it.” Matthew 16:18b)

I am nothing special. In fact, I am just another fallen man who has been saved by His grace alone, and commissioned to proclaim the Good News of the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ. I don’t know why He chose me, but He did. That Jesus came to save sinners IS GOOD NEWS!!!

Paul was probably the most educated of the Apostles, having been educated as a Pharisee under Gamaliel, but he still recognized his own inadequacies when it came to proclaiming the Good News of the Gospel, which led him to pen the words of our opening verse. Why should I think any more of myself?

But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the
surpassing power belongs to God and not to us. (2 Corinthians 4:7)

In Christ,
Steve

4 thoughts on “Jars Of Clay

  1. You said, “I am nothing special……just another fallen man who has been saved by His grace alone, and commissioned to proclaim the Good News of the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ.” To truly find ones rightful direction in life with all that society smothers us with is truly a mighty accomplishment. I have walked life’s road now for 70 years and though praying daily for direction I am still a soul lost in the wilderness. Thanks for a great posting.

    Like

    • Thank you Pete, but this is not my accomplishment. It is all of God. I didn’t go looking for it, it came looking for me, and had someone told me even a year ago that I would be involved in this ministry, I would have questioned their sanity. As I look over the last several years travelling this winding path, I can see the sign-posts that were meant to lead me here. Had someone told me on October 22, 1997, when I received the horrific news that my wife had committed suicide, that it was a “necessary-step” towards getting to where I am, I would have more than questioned their sanity, and yet Romans 8:28 “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose” is still in the Bible, and there is no exclusion-clause on “ALL”. Our most difficult life-experiences are there for a purpose, to bring us to where God wants us to be for His purposes.

      In God’s good time, He will also show you what steps to take. God doesn’t show us the whole map, and sometimes He even leaves us in a “rest area” for a while. He may even have something for you to do in your “rest area”. Trust, and believe that He has everything under control.

      Blessings!
      Steve

      Like

  2. I was blessed, Steve! Thank you for what you do! I wish I could sit in on one of your Bible studies, and then, afterwards, spend some time, discussing the study, and (as you know we men will do) see where it goes. One day I hope to give you a hug, if I may.

    Like

    • Thank you Larry. I am just a humble-servant who has been tasked with the awesome responsibility of proclaiming the glorious Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ. It would be wonderful if you could join us sometime, and I certainly would enjoy taking you to Cheeks for a bit of good food while we discuss God’s Word. Yes, I do accept hugs from Christian Brothers.

      Like

What do you think?

