Divine Appointments

Do you ever try to put the cart before the horse by trying to do the wrong thing at the wrong time?If you do, you have a LOT of company, including me. We want what we want, and when we want it. That is a part of our fallen human-nature. Been there, done that, WAY too many times.

God’s timing is always perfect even when ours isn’t, because He always knows what is best for us. There have been several times recently when God’s timing was far-better than mine.

First contact…
When I first started planning for starting a Christian ministry at Cypress Cove, a couple of people told me that I needed to make contact with Regis, the Activities and Entertainment Director. Regis is a very busy person who is often difficult to catch in his office. Prior to starting the ministry, I tried to catch him in his office on four separate occasions, but to no avail.

I finally made contact with Regis after our second Bible study, when “selling” the idea was much easier because we were already meeting. He was very receptive and promised to do what he could to help us out. God had already prepared his heart to be receptive to my proposal, so the “selling” had already been done – by God.

God didn’t allow my attempts to jump the gun to be “successful” because my timing was all wrong until the appointed time. God’s timing was perfect. It was a divine-appointment.

Second contact…
Regis requested that I email information to him about what I was proposing so he could present it to the owner of Cypress Cove for his approval, which I did. I sent that email on November 16th, the day after I met with him. Although he promised to get back to me, he hadn’t yet done so by December 6th, so I decided to pay him another visit, after failing to catch him in his office a week earlier.

I arrived at Cypress Cove about forty-five minutes before the Bible study was due to start, so I thought that might be a good time to catch him in his office, and it was. He was busy working on schedules and calendars, and he had good news for me. We had been approved as a “club” by the owner, and can now have our own space to meet and be placed on the weekly and monthly calendars.

God is SO good, which reminds me of a passage from 2nd Corinthians: “But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us.” (2 Corinthians 4:7) I am only an unworthy messenger whom God has entrusted His wonderful message, and He will make a way even when I can’t see it myself.

Cancelled appointment…
I just noticed a few days ago that my six-month dermatology appointment for January 4th had been cancelled. I get my dermatology care at the Gainesville VA facility, so it isn’t just a short hop from where I live. In fact I normally go up to my mom’s place the day before so it is easy to go to the appointment the next day. January 4th is a Monday, and I hold the Bible Study at Cypress Cove every Sunday afternoon, which would have made it difficult to go up to mom’s afterward.

As a nudist with a history of skin-cancer, it is very important that I get checked-over regularly so that something minor doesn’t become a major-problem. I don’t like getting cut-on or frozen, but it sure beats the alternative. The original appointment was scheduled long before the ministry at Cypress Cove was even on the horizon.

When I called the dermatology clinic to reschedule my appointment, they scheduled my appointment for January 5th – Tuesday, and it will be easy to drive up to mom’s sometime Monday. All I can say is that I believe that God had a hand in cancelling the earlier appointment and determining the timing of the new appointment.

Not coincidentally, our first gathering of the Bible study in our new space is Sunday, January 3rd.

God is at work…
And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. (Romans 8:28)

In Christ,
Steve

What do you think?

