So You Want Opportunities…

I usually don’t like to talk or write about social issues, but I am fed up to my eyeballs with the crap that is coming out of the mouths of our politicians and other “community leaders“. I am also fed up with the crap I hear on TV from “protesters” and other malcontents. If you are living and breathing, you DO have opportunities. These are the observations of an older white American, who has paid his dues and is enjoying the fruits of his labors.

Being poor is no excuse, because I am poor also. I grew up poor, and I have been poor all my life. Sometimes I was a little less poor, but I never made it to “middle-class“. I scrape by on my retirement, which BTW, is NOT an “entitlement“. I WORKED for my retirement. I can’t afford steak, seafood or alcohol, and I get too much to qualify for food-stamps. I own my own “home“, all 300 square-feet of it. I own my 12 year-old vehicle free and clear, but it doesn’t have a stereo that you can hear from two blocks away or expensive custom wheels and tires. I have made do with even less.

I don’t have any “designer” clothes or name-brand shoes, unless BDU’s and T-shirts from the blood center count as “designer” clothes. I don’t have a problem with wearing 2nd-hand clothes, and free-be’s are even better. If you can’t feed your family, but you have all these “status-symbols“, your priorities are SCREWED UP. My kids always had clothes, even if they came from a yard sale, thrift store, or were hand-me-downs. They never had to go barefoot or without clothes, but their clothes didn’t have designer-labels either.

Being lazy is a sin. I learned to work by the time I was five years old, and I worked until I was no longer able to work. My dad told me “Learn a trade and you will never go hungry“, so I learned four trades. Dad taught me the basics of plumbing, I took welding in Vo-tech, and I learned carpentry and electrical on the job. I also learned to make usable drawings. Oh, BTW, I read, write and speak good English. I was mowing lawns before I was old enough to get a “real” job.

All of my kids knew who their parents were, and they all had the same mom and dad. We were a family. As I was growing up, none of my friends were from single-parent families, because couples stuck together, even if it ws only for their kids. They also knew how to work, because there was no such thing as “Food-Stamps” or “Aid to Families with Dependent Children” (welfare). Having more kids means more responsibility, NOT more free-be’s.

Language…
If you want to live, work, and have opportunities in the USA, learn our language, which is American English. We DO NOT owe you documents in your language, and we shouldn’t have to “Press 1 for English” when we make an official phone call. My ancestors came from Scotland, Ireland and Germany, plus England and an assortment of other countries, but they all had one thing in common; if they didn’t understand English when they moved here, they learned it and taught it to their children. Some of my ancestors were Cherokee Indian, and they learned English before they even had their own alphabet and written language.

I don’t understand seventy-five percent of the people in the stores I shop in, because most of them are either speaking Spanish or Ghetto. Spanish is self-explanatory, and Ghetto is the butchered “English” that many “African-Americans” (blacks) speak. If you want the opportunities this country offers, learn to speak real English.

Immigration…
I am not against legal immigration, because, as I said before, most of my ancestors came from other countries also. They also came here legally, rather than sneaking across the border. This is a land of opportunity for people who come here legally, learn our language and become productive citizens, but we don’t “owe” illegal-immigrants ANYTHING except a return-trip back across the border. I have friends who are immigrants. They are here legally and they all speak fluent English, even though English is not their native-language. One couple is from Holland, and they are tri-lingual, English, Dutch and Freisian. She is a retired Nurse and he retired from being a commercial baker.

Work…
So you want the “better” things in life? Learn to work for them. Nobody OWES you anything. I was helping my dad dig ditches and plumb houses when I was in grade-school. Oh, and he didn’t have a back-hoe or Ditch-Witch. We dug ditches by hand, with a pick and a shovel. My parents didn’t buy me my first car or any vehicle since then. I worked for them and bought them myself. Oh, and my first car wasn’t new either. They didn’t pay for my car-insurance, and I wasn’t allowed to drive their car because they couldn’t afford the extra insurance. If you want something, WORK for it. I did.

College…
So you want to go to college? Have you ever thought about working for that opportunity? In my opinion, going to college straight out of high-school is a big mistake, because most 18-year-old kids don’t have their heads screwed on straight-enough to make the best use of their college experience. Taking “Underwater Basket-Weaving” may sound like fun, but it won’t get you a job. I served in the Military for three years BEFORE I went to college, as did many of my classmates. We made the best of our college experience, and many of us were recruited by top companies right out of college. Nursing and most Engineering disciplines will get you jobs for the rest of your life, but there are a LOT of college-majors that are only good for a piece of paper to hang on your wall. Math is great, if you want to be a teacher for the rest of your life, and so are History and English, if you want to be a teacher for the rest of your life. Music is WONDERFUL, but 99.9% of music-majors never make it to the big-time and end up teaching to pay the bills. I played in an Army Band with folks who had Master’s Degrees in music and couldn’t make a living with it otherwise. Careers in Medicine will always be in high-demand, as will the trades.

“Income-inequality”…
I cringe every time I hear a politician mention “income-inequality” because they act like it is evil or a cancer on society. Folks, someone has to make more than you so they can afford to pay you to do a job. It is as simple as that. Unfortunately most politicians intend to “solve” income-inequality by stealing (taxing) from the “haves” and giving that money to the “have-nots” who HAVE NOT worked for it. They CANNOT create prosperity by taxation. It doesn’t work. It never has and it never will. Of course the politicians also refuse to reduce the size of the gravy-trains they are on. The top Presidential-contenders are projected to spend at least FIVE BILLION DOLLARS on the 2016 campaign. There is something seriously-wrong with that picture.

“Entitlements”…
You are ONLYentitled” to what you EARN. Everything else is a HANDOUT.

Opportunities…
Yes, there ARE opportunities, but they all come at a cost, the cost of YOU doing what it takes to make them your own. If it sounds like I am being harsh, look at where I came from. I grew up in a generation of people who knew how to WORK. Our parents WORKED. Their parents WORKED. My dad WORKED his way through college as a plumber. His dad WORKED as a line-crew foreman on the railroad. I WORKED part-time while I was in college, which was paid-for by the GI-Bill that I EARNED. If you want it badly enough, it is available to you, IF you are willing to WORK for it.

Dr. Ben Carson, the internationally-known Christian pediatric-neurosurgeon who is also a Presidential-hopeful, didn’t let the fact that he is Black and came from poverty and a broken-home keep him from fulfilling his dream of becoming a Doctor.

What is YOUR excuse?

Steve

2 thoughts on “So You Want Opportunities…

What do you think?

