Good?

What is “good“? There are as many answers as there are people, because everyone has their own ideas of what is “good“. Some people love saurkraut, but I can’t get it past my nose. I love chocolate! I think that chocolate is one of God’s finest gifts to mankind, and one of my all-time favorite desserts is “death by chocolate“. We find the same principal at work in our human experiences. When my friend is in pain and goes to her doctor for a pain-shot, the shot HURTS, but the “good” is the pain-relief later on. We have events in our lives which can in no way be considered “good“, and that brings us to a verse which is both difficult to understand, and at the same time, comforting.

And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. (Romans 8:28)

The most difficult word in that verse is “all“, because it trips-up our ideas of what is “good“. If that word was “some“, it would be a lot easier for us to accept, but it isn’t. “All” means “ALL!!!” What was “good” about my wife committing suicide in 1997? What was “good” about her family taking my own children and turning them against me? What was “good” about my current “wife” moving out six weeks after we got married? I can see some “good” in that last event, but I am still scratching my head about the other two. I have had a LOT of that kind of events, maybe not as dramatic, but still “Romans 8:28 events“.

Our problem…
Our problem is that we are NOT God, and God often has very different ideas of what is “good” than we do. Sometimes the “good” God has for us is what He wants to do in our own life, and sometimes the “good” God has for us is to do something “good” for someone else. My latest “adventure” combines both of these.

Perspective…
If I wasn’t where I am now, this blog would not exist, because this blog is growing out of what God is teaching me day by day. Yes, I am hard-headed, and sometimes God has to use a two-by-four to get my attention, but He isn’t shy about using it. I have learned some hard lessons in the last two-and-a-half years.

God also had a mission for me, one that I never could have done where I was, and that is to care for my friend and neighbor. Sometimes caring for her takes my undivided-attention. I have become her “support-system” because the only person in her family who actually cares is her father. Caring for her is part of the “good” in my current situation.

More “good”…
If we “divorce” Romans 8:28 from the next two verses, we miss God’s ultimate “good” in our lives.

And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose. 29 For those whom He foreknew, He also predestined to become conformed to the image of His Son, so that He would be the firstborn among many brethren; 30 and these whom He predestined, He also called; and these whom He called, He also justified; and these whom He justified, He also glorified. (Romans 8:28-30)

Do you see it? Does this passage “rearrange” some of your “furniture” and change your perspective? God isn’t content with leaving us where we were at when we accepted Jesus as our Savior. God wants us to become more and more LIKE our Savior. He wants us to talk and act like Jesus, because He wants sons and daughters, not rebels, and His ultimate goal is to bring us to glory.

The “GOOD NEWS”…
If you are a follower of Christ, a Christian, you didn’t get there by accident. God claimed you before you were born…

After God claimed you, He called your name…

God didn’t put your name on His “wish-list“. When God claimed and called you, it was a done-deal, even though you may not know it until you are on your death-bed. If you haven’t accept God’s free offer of salvation, He will keep calling your name until you do. God is persistent, because God ALWAYS gets what He wants.

I think it is important to note that all of God’s actions are in the past-tense. There are a done-deal. If God has called you, there is no way that you can slip away from His grasp.

More “GOOD NEWS”…
What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who is against us? 32 He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him over for us all, how will He not also with Him freely give us all things? 33 Who will bring a charge against God’s elect? God is the one who justifies; 34 who is the one who condemns? Christ Jesus is He who died, yes, rather who was raised, who is at the right hand of God, who also intercedes for us. 35 Who will separate us from the love of Christ? Will tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? 36 Just as it is written,
“For Your sake we are being put to death all day long;
We were considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”

37 But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, 39 nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:31-39)

As much as Satan would LOVE to trip us up and keep us from God, he doesn’t have a snow-ball’s chance in Hell. As much as Satan would LOVE to make us think that we are not “worthy” of God’s grace, he is right, but the GOOD NEWS is that it isn’t our own “worthiness” which matters. God has claimed us, and He is the One who makes us “worthy” in Jesus Christ.

When we face God in the Courtroom of Heaven, Satan will do everything in his power to convince God that we don’t belong there, but at that moment, Jesus will step in and say “His debt is already paid. I paid it for him.

God claimed you!

God called you!

You belong to Him!

NOTHING ELSE MATTERS!

It is a done-deal, even when there are events in yours and my lives that don’t seen very “good“. We are promised that ultimately “GOOD” will come from them. If you are in Christ, I will see you in Heaven if I don’t meet you here before then.

If you are not in Christ, I tearfully-plead with you to accept God’s free offer of salvation, because even if your life here in Earth seems to be Hell-on-Earth, the GOOD NEWS is that Heaven awaits you.

In Christ,
Steve

What do you think?

