Even Me…

Who can God use for the furtherance of His kingdom? We have plenty of examples throughout the Bible of people whom God called to some specific task, who said “Here I am Lord, send someone else.” One of the most infamous was Moses. Another one was Gideon. Why did these men, who became heros of the faith, believe that they weren’t up to the task? Because they weren’t, in their own strength.

Billy Graham, who was probably the greatest evangelist of our time, never felt like he was capable of fulfilling the mission God gave him, and yet he led huge crusades all over the world. He may have not been capable, but God is more than able.

We are reminded that “God doesn’t call the qualified. He qualifies the called“.

If we look at the lives of the Apostles, they didn’t look like they would ever get past first-base, but they carried the Good News of the Gospel to nearly all of the known world. That was because they acted with a power that was not their own. They acted by the power of the Holy Spirit.

And Jesus went throughout all the cities and villages, teaching in their synagogues and proclaiming the gospel of the kingdom and healing every disease and every affliction. When he saw the crowds, he had compassion for them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few; therefore pray earnestly to the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into his harvest.” (Matthew 9:35-38)

Who is the “Lord of the harvest”?
Jesus said “On this rock I will build my church, and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.” (Matthew 16:18)

Jesus is the “Lord of the harvest” because the church belongs to Him.

Who sends out laborers?
And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:18-20)

Even me…
This past weekend, I was at the Christian Naturist Festival at Lake Como Resort. The Festival was hosted by the Garden of Eden Church, which began a few years ago as a mission of the Christian Nudist Convocation(CNC). Garden Of Eden has been instrumental in planting another mission at Caliente Resort. There is also a lot of interest in starting a mission at Cypress Cove, which is close to where I live.

Who do think brought up the idea of starting a mission at Cypress Cove? Yours truly… Open mouth and insert foot… I thought “Here I am Lord, send someone else“, but that isn’t how God works. Why did I open my big mouth? There are times when I can’t even lead myself in silent prayer.

Somebody, or a group of somebodies, has been praying the Lord of the harvest to send a laborer into that harvest-field. Cypress Cove is better-known for its sometimes-wild parties than it is as a place where the Holy Spirit is at work, but it is family-friendly, unlike Caliente.

I don’t even know where to start, but God does, and if He wants a mission started at Cypress Cove, He will have to lead the way. The only thing I can hang my hat on is:
And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:18-20)

I am not sending-authority. Jesus is, and if He sends me, I have all the authority I need. Yes, He can use even me, weak-knees, trembling-voice and all. I am not capable, but He is more than capable.

In Christ,
Steve

One thought on “Even Me…

What do you think?

