“Mental-Health” Days

Stress is a KILLER! Stress destroys us mentally, spiritually, psychologically and physically, and yet many of us are under tremendous stress, and wouldn’t know how to live our lives if we weren’t under that much stress. When was the last time you took a “mental-health” day to destress and unwind?

God commanded us to take weekly “mental-health” days:
8 “Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. 9 Six days you shall labor, and do all your work, 10 but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God. On it you shall not do any work, you, or your son, or your daughter, your male servant, or your female servant, or your livestock, or the sojourner who is within your gates. 11 For in six days the Lord made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested on the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy. (Exodus 20:8-11)

This is not about some religious observance, even though I am quoting from the Bible. It is about REST, about destressing, about unwinding, about what is best.

God took a break…
Notice that God took a break after He had finished the creation. “11 For in six days the Lord made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested on the seventh day.” If the cosmos didn’t unravel while God was taking a break, our world won’t unravel either if we take a break.

God said: “Take a break”…
8 “Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. 9 Six days you shall labor, and do all your work, 10 but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God. On it you shall not do any work, you, or your son, or your daughter, your male servant, or your female servant, or your livestock, or the sojourner who is within your gates.

When I was growing up, the ONLY thing open on Sunday were churches. Nobody worked on Sunday except for pastors and church staff. There were no convenience stores open 24/7/365, and in fact, one of the first convenience store was 7-11, which was open from 7 AM to 11 PM, SIX days a week. Now there are a myriad of places that are open 24/7/365.

We are so tired from our non-stop activity that we are rarely operating at our best. Tired drivers cause more than their fair-share of traffic accidents. Tired workers can’t give their best to their employers. Tired church-members may sleep through a long-winded sermon. We are growing more tired, AND more irritable by the day.

Taking a break…
I made it my habit during my working career to not wirk on Sunday. Yes, there were times when working on Sunday was a necessity, but I didn’t make it a habit. A close friend of mine is a Seventh Day Adventist, and he always observed Saturday as his day of rest. Did that mean that he never worked a Saturday? No, but he didn’t make it a habit. If we were working together out of town, and needed to work through the weekend, we did, and got back on our normal schedule when we got back home. We also tried to make those weekend work-days a bit shorter so that we didn’t wear ourselves out.

Besides going to church on Sunday and generally chilling-out, I like to take periodic “mental-health” days. Sometimes I just need to get away from the rat-race.

Mental-health days…
When I need to get away and unwind, my favorite chill-out spot is Cypress Cove Nudist Resort. I try to go there about once a month. Now if I could just force myself to turn my phone OFF and leave it in my vehicle… That is easier said than done. because I have a strong commitment to someone who has a lot of medical problems and is frequently sick. I can’t NOT answer my phone if she calls and needs me. I call those “mini-nakations“, for mini-naked-vacations.

I am going to take a bit longer nakation next month (July 2015) and go to the Christian Naturist Festival at Lake Como Resort. I already have my room reservations and I have sent in my Festival registration. That is going to be a time of unwinding, and physical and spiritual rejuvenation. I need that for a lot of reasons and on a lot of levels. I’ll also get plenty of “Vitamin S“, sunshine.

The challenge…
When was the last time you took a “mentalhealth” day and just relaxed? My challenge to you is for you to take a break, take a “mentalhealth” day, or two or five, however many you can manage. Whether you do as I do, and make them “nakations“, or not is up to you, but one thing that I can promise you, is that you really WILL feel better after you take one. Even God rested, so we need to rest also.

To your health,
Steve

What do you think?

