Accidents…

Have you ever not quite made it? Have you ever had that “oops” moment? There are times when certain body-functions, which are normally under our control, take charge of us and we lose control. I have been there, as have many others. We are embarrassed, but should we be ashamed? Embarrassment is normal, but what about shame?

Babies have no control of those body-functions for the first couple years of their life until they get old enough for their parents to “pottytrain” them. We tend to forget that God built these functions into our bodies for our good. We can’t go indefinitely without emptying our bladder or our bowels, or seriously-bad things happen to us. If we don’t heed that “call of nature“, sometimes the automatic system takes over, and we have an “oops“. Sometimes we eat something that doesn’t “agree” with us, and it goes through us like Drano on speed. Been there, done that.

Several years ago, my wife and I were in Wisconsin for a family reunion. On the morning of the reunion, as we were pulling into her parent’s driveway, my bladder decided to cut loose. I didn’t make it to the bathroom in time, so I wet my pants. She understood, because she had the same problem and way more often, so she wasn’t surprised when I asked her to get me a couple of “pantyliners“. I used a “pantyliner” and carried a spare with me every time we went out for several months thereafter. She always carried her “diaperbag” with her which had a change of clothes and some underwear. When we went to her parent’s for a game-night, she always sat on a water-proof pad, because it was not a matter of “if” she was going to leak. It was a matter of “when?”.

My neighbor has had a LOT of problems with her digestive tract, kidneys and urinary-tract, so she has had a LOT of “accidents“. When I first started getting to know her, she had a hard time admitting that she was having “accidents“, both from the embarrassment and from false “shame“. After I shared with her that I also have “accidents” and described some of mine to her, she started relaxing and getting less embarrassed about it. Even though I am normally catheter-dependent, once in a while, all those damaged “circuits” will make contact and my bladder will have a mind of its own with an “accident” as the result. Now we shamelessly share our “accident” experiences with each other, because we are each other’s “support-system“.

This really isn’t about whether “accidents” happen, because they do. It is about our response when they do. Embarrassment is normal, particularly if we are in public when it happens. We often confuse embarrassment and shame. We SHOULD be ashamed when we deliberately do something wrong, but we should NOT be ashamed when an “accident” happens. Embarrassed – maybe, ashamed – NO.

You might now be asking “What does this have to do with being a Christian and a naturist”? The reality is that it has everything to do with it, because if we are going to accept ourselves as God made us, we must come to accept that God made us this way. If God had not built into our systems the ability to go on “automatic“, we could find ourselves in a world of hurt – literally. Part of being “Fearfully and wonderfully made” is that God DID design our waste-disposal systems and He DID “program” them to go on “autopilot” when necessary, but sometimes that “autopilot” kicks in at an “inconvenient” time. That is nothing to be ashamed of.

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be. (Psalm 139:13-16)

God bless!
Steve

What do you think?

